My Legs Hurt

October 17, 2006 at 1:20 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Every time I get up to walk someplace my legs remind me that I ran a race last weekend. Oh, please do not feel sorry for me, this is a good thing. It has been far too long that I have been sufficiently conditioned to run fast enough to cause this discomfort.

Training as you may recall is about stress and recovery. I have been able to mildly stress in recent events. This time, however, I stressed well. That means I will recover as a stronger runner than I was beginning the event.

Two weeks ago I ran/walked/jogged 105 miles in a 24 hour event. There was no discomfort, only fatigue. There were training effects, but not the type that would easily transfer to faster performances. My most recent event, 39.58 miles in six hours provided a much more vigorous workout. (I was just under 36 miles at the six hour point of the 24 hour.) Yes for a measly 3/4 of a mile per hour I greatly enhanced training effect.

Why? In the 24 hour I averaged just over 10 minutes per mile for the first 6 hours, with none of the running below eight minute miles. In the six hour event I ran sub eight minute miles through 11 miles. Additionally the 24 hour course, a 1.52 mile loop, was pancake flat. The six hour course, a 2.07 mile loop, had several hills. I would have worked harder at the same pace, yet pushed myself harder.

The race was Sunday. I did not run Monday. Tuesday morning I ran, slowly, but worked some of the soreness from my legs. Perhaps they will forgive me tomorrow.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.