What's Cool?

October 24, 2006 at 10:52 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I put on a long sleeve t-shirt this morning, and sweat pants. It was cool outside, and I did not have to be on a bicycle to realize it. As I walked past the car I ran my hand over the dew on the windshield, it wiped off. “At least it’s not freezing out here I thought.” (Later, when leaving for work, the dew had in fact iced over-go figure.)

I completed my run, and was toasty warm well before the halfway point. I was not running fast. Fast running warms one up more quickly. A couple of weeks ago at a race, where most people considered it cold I ran sans shirt. People kept asking if I was cold. I was not, but I did try to push the pace. After finishing, within minutes, I knew what they had been talking about. Some of the effect was from a fairly strong wind, however.

Many people cut back on, or stop training as the temperatures drop. There is no real reason for this. (Staying in a warm toasty bed does not count.) With proper clothing, and dedication we can train in just about anything mother nature throws at us. Here in South Carolina we have it good. After a couple of days of cool it usually warms right back up. T-shirt days are common in every month of the year.

I have friends in other places. I hear in places like Chicago it actually gets cold. Fortunately we do not deal with that here in South Carolina, we are too cool for that.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.